The Jones’? I’m Just Trying to Keep Up With Myself.

My life has been out of control! I feel like I’m doing way too much, too long and too often. And I do not feel like I am accomplishing anything. I have been noticing this for some time now, but I had no concept of why. Some people, whom I find very inspiring, will stop everything thing in their life to discover the source of the “out-of-controllness.” I, unfortunately do not have ability in my normal day to take a seat, open a journal and get some self-discovery.

As is often the case for me, I will just continue to go about my life, hoping that some revelation will come to me, helping me to discover the great mysteries of life.  But there must be value in  placing effort into the “cause of myself.”

We are only given a limited amount of time to which we may work, play, worship and mature in our life. The length of a mans life is 70-80 years. Within that we have 365 days of which are 24 hours long. At an average of 75 years, we only have 657,000 hours to live. I think it would be better if we could reach one million hours, but that is beside the point. That much time doesn’t seem to be that much time. So not only do I not have a lot of time, I don’t have time to waste. I can only do so much.

Recently I concluded that, within all of the things I place effort into, I have four major portions which I am investing all of my time into. (In no order of importance)

Work

Family

Friendships

Personal Development

I believe each portion has a tremendous amount of say in how “well” I am doing in my life. If work is going really well, my family is connecting and growing, I have close, caring friendships, but I am not growing personally and the things that should inspire me to live are stagnant, then I will not be doing well and my “lack” of personal growth will invade the areas that are flourishing.

With all of this said:

I am going to put in a little effort and do an experiment with my time. Because I feel like my life is “out-of-control”, I am going try to figure out why I feel that way.

I recently have downloaded an app for my computer and iPod touch called Toggl. The application is designed for independent contract workers to keep track of their time in order to bill companies for their work. The interface is fairly simple to work with as long as you don’t mind putting a little work in at the front-end.

I have set up the four portions of my life as the “clients I am working for” and everything I do during the day, from eating breakfast to making a work memo, to reading The Count of Monte Christo has to fit into one of those categories. As I type, I am tracking this time as Client: Personal,  Project: Writing,  Job: Blogging.

My hope in all of this, is that I will be able to look back at my report and see what I am investing my time in. I am three days into the project and I’ve given myself a month to complete the experiment.

I will let you know how it goes. I encourage you to look at Toggl and see if it will be worth the effort for the cause of yourself.

3 Responses to “The Jones’? I’m Just Trying to Keep Up With Myself.”

  1. I see…. :)

    Little tip, write down in the morning what you want to accomplish today, in a list and just work your list down, feels awesome. Could be work related, family related.. doesn’t matter.

    Merel
    Advice from somebody without kids…

    • That’s good advice Merel. It’s good to have a plan for the day. I think that’s one of the reasons I’m doing this. So I know what kinds of things I’d like to accomplish

  2. Great stuff Natebone. I downloaded toggl yesterday (during a business meeting) and found myself distracted with trying to set it up. I ended up missing half of the meeting so that I could be more productive! Sheesh.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

