Iced Green Tea Latte… Genius!

Image

Sometimes a little ingenuity and motivation is all we need to succeed. I admire people who are willing to take their combination of ingenuity and motivation and turn it into a financial engine.

I have had several conversations recently about how we should be looking for ways to use our abilities to multiply the things that we have. My good friend Mark has plenty of dreams, but one idea of his, is to be able to buy a motorcycle. Unfortunately his financial situation (like most of ours) doesn’t allow him the freedom to buy a motorcycle on a whim. He needs to plan for it and to save up. So he is taking steps towards saving up as well as looking for ways to generate extra income to save up.

A co-worker of mine, Hannah, has been blending and selling powdered coffee drinks, that she buys from Costco. At $2 per drink, she generates enough income to pay for the ingredients way before it’s used up.

I have been staring at my computer for days as I have been working on the 2013 budget here at work. Most of my effort these days has gone towards my work (which unfortunately does nothing for my income as we live on missionary support) so I am unable to give the needed brain power for new ideas like my friends. This isn’t a life changing idea, but the craving for a Starbucks green tea Frappucino came over me today. I convinced myself that I can make something similar to the Starbucks product by myself, so I went for it. Not much of a profit generating idea, but it could help you save some dollars by not giving them to Starbucks.

I’d say the idea was a success!

Here is what I did.

Recipe: One serving, about 4 minutes

8 ounces hot water

2 bags of green tea

2 tablespoons of vanilla syrup

1/4 cup half and half

1 cup of ice

I steeped both green tea bags in the hot water for about three minutes. Meanwhile, I put the vanilla syrup, half and half in a plastic cup filled with ice. As soon as the green tea completed steeping, I threw away the bags and poured the hot cup of green tea over the ice. Mixed it up to make it cold, I threw a straw into the cup and voila, an iced green tea latte.

It isn’t perfect, but Starbucks can eat their hearts out!

4 Responses to “Iced Green Tea Latte… Genius!”

  1. Debbie Alley Says:

    Great idea! Should we say Pintrest?

  2. i made it and it turned out pretty shitty…. but i used vannilla extract???? is that why??? i had to add a ton of sugar…

    • Yeah, I bet the issue was using vanilla extract, as it is not sweet in any way. The recipe calls for vanilla syrup which is simple sugar syrup combines with vanilla extract. I apologize for any confusion. To make your own vanilla syrup, try this; boil 1 cup water, turn heat to medium, add 1 cup white sugar and allow to simmer for approx 2 minutes. Take off the heat and add 1 tsp of vanilla extract. That’s about as close as I have gotten to the store bought vanilla syrup. I hope that works.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

