Categories
Pursuit of a Dream

The Preface

A Time For Reflection
Take a moment, the next time you're in the shower. It might change your life.

The shower is a great time to reflect. It may be the water rushing at me is so electrifying that my brain becomes active (I have to take a shower every morning, or I can’t wake up). There seems to be an element about taking a shower that stimulates thought. Days get quite long when one has two boys who have more energy than a power plant, so it is good to be alone. I and also a fan of standing in the hot water for a long, long, long time (yours truly has been known to empty our hot water tank in one sitting).  Perhaps the stimulated brain with the extended period of being in one place makes a shower what I call “a great time to reflect”.

It was shower time one morning, last summer, when, there I was taking a shower…. {reflecting}… when it occurred to me that it was time to pursue my dream. I am not a college graduate, in fact, I’ve only completed just under a year of college credits in my life. As a kid in high school, I was not one of those who “knew” what they were going to do next. In fact, I was taken aback when, after graduation, all of my friends left for college and I stayed home to pursue a college education at the local community college (it seemed like a good idea at the time), and pursue a general education associates degree. “That way I can transfer to a four year school to get bachelors in something I really cared about” I said, smartly, to those who would ask. What I didn’t realize was one should not waste the money on an education that they will not be following through with.

I think we sometimes have a false hope that if we continue to do the things that others tell us to do, that eventually we will be okay with what we are doing, even it is fifty years down the road. We live in an environment that opportunities are widely available to us if we so desire to pursue them. So the question is, should we continue to lie to ourselves? Are you doing what you really want to be doing? Does your work provide you with the satisfaction that you are building something worth building? Do you come home everyday wishing you had done things differently? Are you working towards a degree which will hoist you into a career that you know you will hate?

Is there a dream in your heart that you forgot about?

I want to be a writer. Here I am writing of course… but I want to write to change lives.

That morning, last summer, as I was reflecting on… things I reflect on… Football, video games, coffee, my wife, my kids, football… the typical things a married guy reflects on, the voice of the One who has been with me said to me, “It’s time to pursue your dream.” It could have been a hard pill to swallow but I was ready. As I stepped out of the shower that morning, it was as if I stepped out into an undiscovered world, like Tommy must have felt, every time he, and the other Rugrats broke out of the crib and discovered what they were made for.

This brings us to today, as you read this, I am pursuing my desire. I said already, of formal education, I have none, but what I have I will offer to you on this page, once per week. This will be a comedy of my life. The title, A Reconstruction in Jest defines me, my life and my humor. I believe little in life is to be taken too seriously, and yet, I believe we should all be in a place that we are willing to change the life we live in order to pursue the life we were built to live.

Expectations are high and so are the risks, but the risk of losing everything to gain life is greater than saving myself from failure and gaining nothing.

~Nathan

13 replies on “The Preface”

Cool beans!! I had just the same thought as you 2 weeks ago… writing! And actually it is kind of fun, you think of stuff more deeply when you write it down, and then you are surprised by the fact that you really thought that way. So join the journey of blogging!

Awesome bro love it. I thought I posted a comment earlier but I guess I didn’t. I love your last statment it might just be the next most used quote in speeches to come. Great job looking forward to reading more.

Hey Nathan- Ted just wrote that comment above, under my name 🙂
Anyways, I had to write because when I read Ted a blog post that I wrote earlier today, he told me about your blog post as well and that this morning in worship you guys touched on this very thing! I am left amazed. I esp love the last sentence and the challenge! Thank you!

I really like the way you write and will def. be following. Thanks for writing and inspiring!

I love how you used Tommy/Rugrats to help explain a point. It’s been too long since I’ve had a Rugrats reference! It all made sense to me at that point, lol.

Very good writing here, Nathan, I enjoyed it a lot! Also, I completely agree and I think it’s high time we stop wasting our time NOT doing things!

Agreed with Jae, that must have been a good shower!

Leave a comment